Personal tools

Home » AWARDS » EuCAP Best Paper Awards and Best Student Paper Awards - Rules

EuCAP Best Paper Awards and Best Student Paper Awards - Rules

2020 EuCAP Best Paper Awards

The EuCAP 2020 Best Paper Awards have been created to contribute to the recognition of scientific quality of research and engineering in four thematic domains:

  • Measurement
  • Propagation
  • Electromagnetics
  • Antennas


Awards Committee
The Awards will be chaired by Prof. Marianna Ivashina, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden.

For each thematic domain there is an Award Committee constituted by four distinguished researchers in the field. The composition of four committees is the following: 


  • Dr. Sergiy Pivnenko (Chair), Antenna Systems Solutions, Spain
  • Prof. Francesco D’Agostino, University of Salerno, Italy
  • Dr. Daniel Janse van Rensburg, NSI-MI Technologies, GA, USA


  • Assoc. Prof. Andrés Alayón Glazunov (Chair), Technical University of Twente, The Netherlands
  • Prof. Sana Salous, Durham University, the UK
  • Prof. Luis M. Correia, University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Prof. Vittorio Degli Esposti, University of Bologna, Italy


  • Prof. Zvonimir Šipuš (Chair), University of Zagreb, Croatia
  • Prof. Ozlem Aydin Civi, Middle East Technical University, Turkey
  • Prof. Francisco Mesa, University of Seville, Spain
  • Prof. Ioan E. Lager, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands


  • Prof. Bart Smolders (Chair) Technical University of Eindhoven
  • Dr. Stefania Monni, TNO, The Netherlands
  • Dr. Maria Kovaleva, Curtin University, Australia
  • Prof. Hendrik Rogier, Ghent University / IMEC, Belgium



2020 EuCAP Best Student Paper Awards

Application deadline: October 18, 2019. Application is done during paper submission.

The EuCAP 2020 Best Student Paper Awards are not related to a specific thematic domain.

For the Best Student Paper competition, there may be up to two Awards if the quality is sufficient, provided they cover different topical areas among antennas, electromagnetics, propagation and measurements.

Award Committee

The Award Committee for the Best student Paper Award is constituted by five distinguished researchers which are the following:

  • Prof. Ahmed Kishk (Chair), Concordia University of Montreal, Canada
  • Prof. Eva Rajo Iglesios, University Carlos III de Madrid, Madrid, Spain
  • Prof. Jiro Herokawa, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo, Japan
  • Prof. Stefano Maci, University of Siena, Sienna, Italy
  • Prof. Mohammad Sharawi, Professor at Polytechnique Montréal, Canada


Eligibility for a Best Student Paper Award

The candidate must fulfill the following conditions:

  1. be a Bachelor, Master, or PhD student at the paper submission deadline (18th October 2019).
  2. be at most 35 years old at the Conference starting date (March 15, 2020)
  3. be the first author of the competing paper and have a major contribution to the work. Moreover, a maximum of two co-authors can be over the age of 35
  4. be personally registered at EuCAP 2020
  5. personally present the paper at the conference
  6. be present at the closing ceremony

Conditions 1-3 must be certified by the supervisor in the form of an accompanying signed letter (PDF format), by the candidate author after receiving a special request from the Awards Chairs (subsequent to the paper acceptance notification and subject to the reviewing score).

EuCAP 2020 Best Student Paper Awards are sponsored by the European School of Antennas (ESoA)



The Award Committee will select five finalists in each thematic domain of the EuCAP 2020 Best Paper Awards and five finalists for the EuCAP 2020 Best Student Paper Awards based on two criteria:

  • The reviewers score and their recommendations for the initially submitted paper.
  • The quality of the final paper.

In addition to the presentation in their normal (oral or poster) sessions, the authors of the selected papers will be invited to compete for the Awards on a special Award poster session held on Thursday afternoon, March 19, 2020. Information on poster presentations can be found here

The selection of the Best Paper Award in each domain will result from the evaluation by each Award Committee of the combined quality of the paper and of the poster presentation. In this selection, the main criterion is the technical excellence, however, other criteria, such as originality and innovation, significance to the AP community, potential impact, and clarity of presentation will also be considered.

All awards will be distributed during the closing ceremony on Friday noon, March 20, 2020.

Awardees cannot be from the same institution as, or be co-author with, the Awards Chair or any member of the relevant Awards Committee. A student can choose to apply to either or both of a thematic award or the best student papers awards. However, this is not recommended unless he obtained exceptional quality results. In any case, a candidate cannot receive more than one award.

Unless otherwise indicated, all exchanges regarding EuCAP 2020 Awards should be addressed to


EUCAP 2020 Log in


Per 04 March 2020: 1450  registrations

Register here

Key dates

Revised Paper: 17 January 2020
Author registration: 17 January 2020

Preliminary conference programme: 30 January 2020
Early Bird deadline: 7 February 2020

Opening hours

Conference Sessions
Monday: 09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday: 08:30 – 18:20
Wednesday: 08:30 – 16:40
Thursday: 08:30 – 18:20
Friday: 08:30 – 13:30

Registration Desk
Sunday: 15:00 - 18:00
Monday: 07:30 – 19:00
Tuesday: 08:00 – 18:30
Wednesday: 08:00 – 17:00
Thursday: 08:00 – 18:30
Friday: 08:00 – 13:30

Exhibition Hours
Monday: 18:00 - 20:00
Tuesday: 10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday: 10:00 - 16:00
Thursday: 10:00 - 17:00

Short Courses
Friday: 14:00 - 17:30

Conference Dinner
Wednesday: 17:45 – 23:59

Platinum Sponsors
Ticra Logo


Gold Sponsors

Altair Engineering GmbH




Silver Sponsors


Rohde and Schwarz
Bronze Sponsors



Supporting Institutions
European Microwave Association
ISAP logo